I’m officially educated

Posted on April 30, 2009. Filed under: Personal, Thoughts | Tags: , , |

I have, unofficially, gotten over with my M.C.A degree. If you wonder why “gotten over with” and not “completed”, take a wild guess. I’ve never been studious in the classical sense, especially what Indian parents consider as studious, and have NEVER liked any college in India. The whole system of:

  1. Have 80% attendance
  2. Write all tests whether you want to or not
  3. Mug your brains out 2 days before the exam
  4. Empty the useless knowledge in 3 hours
  5. Pray like crazy that the paper evaluator is in a good mood

just pisses me off like none other. But here I am, having successfully completed 10+2+3+3=18 years of education(phew!). So congrats to me.

Just for the heck of it, here is a list of things I have/haven’t done in these 18 years:

  • Bunked school (not college) so badly, my attendance was less than 60% and had to take my parents to get my board hall ticket. I scored 88.5% (lame)
  • Bunked college for “very” weird reasons
  • Won about every extra-curricular and co-curricular competition in school, except for academic awards
  • Joined an engineering course and discontinued after 6 months
  • Won district level Carnatic music competitions for 3 years
  • Learnt to play the Veena – for a grand total 5 days
  • Fought with a kid when I was around 12, and pushed him into a burning fire (both got burnt lightly)
  • Been kicked out of the class, by my mom, for not completing my assignments
  • Played Cricket and other random games for 12-14 hours a day, in summer, for about 70 days
  • Did a very lame and embarrassing mono act scene, and won the second prize out of a total of 3 participants

Ahh, those days.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

